International Poetry Competition 2008

The Arvon International Poetry Competition 2008 is now open!

Download the entry form

Enter your poems online

2008 marks Arvon’s 40th birthday and the 14th Arvon International Poetry Competition. The competition is open to all poets around the world and poems are entered anonymously. There are no line or subject matter restrictions.

The judges for 2008 are UK Poet Laureate Andrew Motion, Moniza Alvi and Alice Oswald.

The deadline for entries is 15th August at 5pm.

Prizes -

Classic FM First Prize - £5000
Second Prize - £2500
Third Prize - £1000 
Three commendation prizes - £500 each.

Ted Hughes Environmental Poetry Prize 
of £1000 plus a selection of Ted Hughes publications.

Buy the 2006 competition anthology

More details will be available soon. Keep up-to-date by signing up for our e-newsletter.